

For Immediate Release July 1, 2015

Contact: Michele Sharp Director of Communications and Public Affairs (203) 294-7213 Sharp@chime.org

Connecticut Hospital Association Welcomes the Newly Elected Members of its Board of Trustees

WALLINGFORD – At the Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting, held June 30, 2015, members elected trustees for the CHA 2015-2016 Board of Trustees. John Murphy, MD, President and CEO, Western Connecticut Health Network, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Patient Care Quality. Christopher Dadlez, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Population Health. Elliot Joseph, President and CEO, Hartford HealthCare, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Hospital Finance. Peter Karl, President and CEO, Eastern Connecticut Health Network, was elected Chairman of the Committee on Government, and Marna Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital, and President and CEO, Yale New Haven Health System, was elected Member At Large.

Newly elected or re-elected trustees include:

Marna Borgstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Yale-New Haven Hospital, and President and CEO, Yale New Haven Health System; Anne Diamond, Chief Executive Officer, UConn Health John Dempsey Hospital; Jeffrey Flaks, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Hartford HealthCare; Stuart Marcus, MD, President and CEO, St. Vincent's Medical Center; and Colleen Smith, RN, Consultant, Nursing Consulting Partners, and former Chief Nursing Officer.

Other members of the 2015-2016 CHA Board include:

Chairman Bruce Cummings, President/CEO, Lawrence + Memorial Hospital; Vice Chairman David Whitehead, President, Hartford HealthCare East Region; Secretary Peter Karl, President and CEO, Eastern Connecticut Health Network; Treasurer Christopher O'Connor, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Yale New Haven Health System; DNS Board Chairman Patrick Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Hospital; CEO Forum Chairman Kurt Barwis, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bristol Hospital; Rohit Bhalla, MD, Vice President, Chief Quality Officer, Stamford Hospital; Vincent Capece Jr., President/CEO, Middlesex Hospital; Jennifer Jackson, President and CEO, CHA; William Jennings, President and Chief Executive Officer, Bridgeport Hospital; Kevin Myatt, Senior Vice President of Human Resources, Yale New Haven Health System; Darlene Stromstad, President and CEO, Waterbury Hospital; and Chad Wable, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saint Mary's Hospital.

Outgoing trustees included Ulysses Hammond, Lawrence + Memorial Hospital; Curtis Robinson, Saint Francis Hospital and Medical Center; and Robert Smanik, Day Kimball Healthcare. CHA is grateful for their valuable service and important contributions.

About CHA

The Connecticut Hospital Association has been dedicated to serving Connecticut's hospitals since 1919. Through state and federal advocacy, CHA represents the interests of Connecticut's hospitals on key healthcare issues in the areas of quality and patient safety, access and coverage, workforce, community health, health equity, and hospital reimbursement.